Confessions of a shopaholic

I have to admit that I have been sucked in by the Dailymail side bar once or twice. I am trying to break free of the habit but I couldn’t help noticing all the shopaholic stories. You know the ones where women are standing in rooms full of clothes showing off their shopping bags:

Image

Well I have a confession to make, I am a shopaholic and my haul is running into thousands of pounds. I warn you though that my pictures aren’t so pretty as all those other shoppers. Want to know what went in my shopping bag?

One kitchen:

Image

And some more:

Image

One full size fridge freezer:

Image

One dishwasher:

Image

A washing machine (with more kitchen on top):

Image

Some water pipes and pipe insulation for the boiler system:

Image

Some spiffy radiator things:

Image

And the 11 radiators to match:

Image

I also splurged on a fancy schmancy boiler with a pipe elbow of all things:

Image

We have spent about a quarter of the budget on all this stuff alone so we are currently in that scary phase of the project where money just falls through our fingers. It is money well spent though and at great prices. A senior executive I work with offered to get us a deal on a great quality boiler as he had a long business relationship with a boiler distributor. He looked at our shopping list and the prices we would get and said that he could only manage to save us about £5 on the order if that. So we know we are getting a high end boiler at a great price – even if we run out of money to buy the gas to use it!

What about you? How do you deal with the hemorrhaging phase of the project? Stay at home and eat beans? Stick your head in the sand or stick it all on the credit card? I’d love to hear your tips on how to get through the shopaholic phase.

Leave a Reply

